Quantify good grooming.

Discuss alpine piste grooming here.

Quantify good grooming.

Postby infidel on 14 Nov 2012, 16:27

Hello all,

Total noob here, so please bear with me.

I'm curious of the method used to tell if the corduroy being laid out at the rear of the cat is destined to be a great skiing surface or just merely "looks" nice. Do you, as an operator, get out of the cab once in a while to physically check what's being produced, or does your experience render that not neccesary?

Also, does the ideal firmness or density vary with the difficulty of the run (IE- softer greens and very firm black diamonds). Does it vary with which direction the run faces? As in, would a south facing run that is bound to receive a good dose of sunlight the next day be groomed differently than a north facing run?

I'm looking forward to running all these by the veteran groomers when we start up, but until then I'd love to hear what you folks here have to say.

Thank you, Jesse.

P.S.- We'll be running BR350's with Posiflex tillers, if that matters.
infidel

Re: Quantify good grooming.

Postby infidel on 15 Nov 2012, 15:33

12 looks! No response :(

Impress this forum with a thoughtful reply, or dazzle us all with some witty BS!
Or.....just make something up. I won't know the difference :)

I have lots more questions, so don't leave me hangin'

Thanks!
infidel

Postby snowizard1 on 19 Nov 2012, 18:18

infidel wrote:Hello all,

Total noob here, so please bear with me.

I'm curious of the method used to tell if the corduroy being laid out at the rear of the cat is destined to be a great skiing surface or just merely "looks" nice. Do you, as an operator, get out of the cab once in a while to physically check what's being produced, or does your experience render that not neccesary?